RIA Services: Working with Foreign Keys/Associations in Entity Framework

Yesterday, I got an strange observation regarding RIA Services. I needed to created an Entity Model from views instead of tables so it had no foreign key associations defined. I manually created the associations and was finally able to get a working model. I then added a RIA Domain Service and got the following error upon build:

“Unable to retrieve AssociationType for association ‘JobWBS_ResourceAssignment'”

Strange. But after some effort I came to know that the current(July 2009) preview of RIA services expects all the associations in the default foreign key naming convention, i.e., FK_ForeignKeyTable_PrimaryKeyTable. In my case, I had a 1-Many relationship between JobWBS and ResourceAssignment so I changed the association name to FK_ResourceAssignment_JobWBS and the project built successfully.

Update: If you are still not able to get rid of the error. Its probably because your SSDL schema does not have the proper associations defined. Have a look at this post on how to manually define associations in the physical (storage) model.

Leave a Reply

